3 January 2014 – Count Me Out

G-c-em-c / EM-G-D-C /G-D-C
bridge: D-EM-C

3 January 2014

Count Me Out
Will Carson

I can count the times you called my name. Told me I was last and penciled in my shame.
My car’s been packed for 35 days. I’m long overdue for hitting the brakes.
I’ve got a date with a dealer in Omaha. He’s been counting my cards since you fixed the draw.
I know you’ve got a feeling that I’m gonna fold, and stand here in silence while you trash my home.

Well you can count me out. I’ve seen the walls fall down. You’re young and wild and free.
I’ll break the reins you threw on me.

One two three and it starts again. Like coal from the pit swirling in the wind.
The sun is rising and the morning is fresh. I’m gonna saddle some courage and ride again.
I’ve got a date with a highway named 81. When I start up that car you know I’ll be gone.
It’s been grinding for a while but I looked away. Now it’s time to turn the key and finally escape.

Well you can count me out. I’m gonna drop like rain from a cloud.
You’re young and wild and free. I’ll break the reins you threw on me.

Some day when I’m older someone will see my tires are bald. And ask me when I knew my number had been called.

Well you can count me out. I’m finally heading out.
You’re young and wild and free. I broke the reins you threw on me.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

