01 February 2014 – Fading Fast (featuring Mary Hrovat)

G-am-em-d-c-d
f-g-am-f-g-f-g-f-g-am

Fading Fast
Will Carson
The sun is drifting, like a lazy fly, sliding slowly across the light blue sky
The leaves above me, are orange and red, harvest colors cry that summer’s heat is dead
I’m walking a back road, the New Hampshire way, my head is clear and my temple’s gray
The cows are watching, through a split rail fence, everything’s all right it all makes sense

As I walk down the canopied road, gonna take it easy, just let it slide
As I walk down the canopied road

This road ain’t endless, there’s a pond where the tire ruts fade, where deep in the night the deer make their raids
That’s where Jimmy Johnson, drowned at the age of five, I wonder who he’d be if he was still alive
Friday nights on blankets watching the fire flies, looking for love while our innocence died
Air heavy with burdens, the wind carries traces of crimes, looking back to the future from younger times

As I walk down the canopied road, gonna take it easy, just let it slide
As I walk down the canopied road

It’s early October, but Mom’s got the wood stove hot, she and Dad huddle ’round its flaming top
The coals in the chamber are fading really fast, they’re broken and tired and they’re not gonna last
Who decided we’re lucky to wander for eighty years, flying with the joys and humbled by the fears
Twisted leaves are falling, covering up my tracks, I’d like to go on but I ought to go back

As I walk down the canopied road, gonna take it easy, just let it slide
As I walk down the canopied road

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

