04 February 2014 – If I Could Love yOu

 

4 February 2014

dm-c-em-am
c-g-am-c-g-am-f-g-c-em-am
c-g-am

If I Could Love yOu
Will Carson

If I could love you, I’d show you where I stand
We’d walk the streets of Stanton, strolling hand in hand
I’d take your worries, and crush them with my strong arms
You’d go forward, head held high, peaceful and safe from harm

If I could love you, we’d learn to walk side by side
All the things you’ve ever wanted, would be our common tide
You’d learn to forgive me, for the traits you consider weak
and I would learn to lead us forward in everything we seek

I got hit with a fist of love. It brought me swiftly to my knees
My heart cried out, what’s this opposition all about
Can someone explain it to me please

If I could love you, you’d never be alone
The twisted ash of my shattered past, would dissolve and be gone
I’d be the hero, you once thought you saw in me
not the broken martyred soul, the anchor in your sea

If I could love you, I’d always read your mind
I’d ambush all the pits before you, and make your sorrows mine
You would walk with the confidence, that angels share on high
Never looking forward in anger, and knowing where the demons lie

I got hit with a fist of love. It brought me swiftly to my knees
My heart cried out, what’s this opposition all about
Can someone explain it to me please

 

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

