02 June 2014 – Wonder Man

02 June 2014

capo 3

c-f-am-f
c-am-f-c-g-am-f

Wonder Man
Will Carson / Bruce Springsteen

I remember you lying in bed, with nurses hovering around
Stood beside you four long days, sliding ice chips in your mouth
And when that boy was slapped, and we finally heard him cry
I knew we’d always stay together, through the tumultuous ride

Darling we took our vows, and together we’ve made our stand
I am the wonder man

I remember the craven pits, filled with rocks and pointed shale
the angry words of disappointment, all the times I routinely failed
All the pressure in my face, my shoulders falling down
But the spirit was always there, between our feet and the ground

Darling we took our vows, and together we’ve made our stand
I am the wonder man

I remember walking the beach, one boy attached to each hand
as the gulls drifted into the dusk, and the waves melted into the sand
You were following close behind, the camera slung on your wrist
the sun left for another world, and you knew this was it

Darling we took our vows, and together we’ve made our stand
I am the wonder man

I remember lying in bed, for a hundred thousand nights
Praying health and peace for my family, and a will to do right
For all the times that I’ve let you down, there were hundreds you never saw
I was the right man for the job, with wings that sheltered you all

Darling we took our vows, and together we’ve made our stand
I am the wonder man

Darling I’ve done my best, and I hope you understand
I am the wonder man

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

